HMS Whirlwind (1944) DD  (2nd)

This the second ship to carry the name HMS Whirlwind was a W Class (1943), destroyer.

Built by Hawthorn Leslie, laid down 31-Jul-1942, launched 30-Aug-1943, and commissioned 20-Jul-1944.

On commissioning formed part of the 27th Destroyer Flotilla.

From Aug-1944 completed Arctic convoy duty. Then Nov-1944 to the Indian Ocean as part of the 27th Destroyer Flotilla. Moving to the British Pacific Fleet, Jan-1945 for the remainder of the war.

Converted to a Type 15 frigate 1953.

Foundered 29-Oct-1974 in Cardigan bay when used as a target.

Won the Battle Honours: Okinawa 1945.


Other HMS Whirlwind
- 1st  HMS Whirlwind
- 2nd HMS Whirlwind

- W Class (1943) DD
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

c. w.
This page last edited - 08 November, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.