HMS Barracouta (1890) CC  (6th)

This the sixth ship to carry the name HMS Barracouta was the name ship of a class of four Torpedo Cruisers.

Built at Sheerness Dockyard, laid down 1888, launched 16-May-1889, and completed 1890.

On completion served at Sheerness 1890-93, then out to the South East Coast of America. 1893-96. Back to Sheerness 1897, on to the Cape Station 1897-1903 where she won the Battle Honour 'South Africa 1900-01'.

Returned to the UK for duty at Chatham and Sheerness 1904-05.

Sold 1905.


Other HMS Barracouta
- 1st  HMS Barracouta
- 2nd HMS Barracouta
- 3rd HMS Barracouta
- 4th HMS Barracouta
- 5th HMS Barracouta
- 6th HMS Barracouta

- Barracouta Class (1890) CC
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 02 July, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.