Roman Navy - Provincial Fleets





Provincial Fleets Organisation

Provincial Fleets were established to provide a permanent naval presence in specific provinces away from Italy.

Eventually they comprised :-
Classis Alexandrina - based in Egypt
Classis Britannica - based around Britain
Classis Germanica - based along the North Sea and Rhine river system.
Classis Moesica - based on the lower Danube and north coast of the Black Sea
Classis Nova Libica - based on the African coast
Classis Pannonica - based on the middle and upper Danube
Classis Pontica - based in the south and east of the Black Sea
Classis Syriaca - based in the eastern Mediterranean

The first provincial fleet was established by Augustus, the Classis Alexandrina, based at Alexandria to secure the grain supply from Egypt.




This page last edited - 20 July, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.